Key Stage 4 Curriculum

With the introduction of a three year broad and balanced Key Stage 4 curriculum students will be able to spend longer preparing for Level 2 qualifications and the rigorous requirements of new linear GCSE courses and terminal examinations. It also enables teachers to deliver broader and more detailed schemes of work in preparation for these exams. Students complete the options process in Year 8 and receive our guidance with parents’ support, to make appropriate decisions.

A core curriculum for all students comprises of: 

  • English Language & Literature
  • Mathematics
  • Science (Combined Science or Biology, Chemistry and Physics)
  • Physical Education (Core programme)
  • The tutorial programme and PSHE

English: –
All students currently study English Literature in Year 9 & 10 leading to one GCSE and then study English Language in Year 10 & 11 leading to a second GCSE.

Science: –
There are two main pathways offered in science:

Mathematics: –
All students study Mathematics leading to one GCSE

  • Triple science where students will gain GCSE’s in Biology, Chemistry and Physics
  • Combined science – Double Award where students will gain two GCSE’s

Which pathway a student follows will be negotiated based on attainment in science lessons as part of continuous assessment through Key Stage 3 & Year 9 of KS4.

Physical Education: –
All students continue with Physical Education at Key Stage 4 and a variety of activities are offered in line with the National Curriculum. There are also opportunities for accreditation, for example Sports Leaders Award.

Students continue their PSHE studies in form time and during assemblies.

Option Subjects:
Students choose which subjects they wish to specialise in for their studies in Years 9, 10 and 11 through the options process which takes place in Year 8.

  • Option Subjects include: –
  • Art
  • Design & Technology
  • Food & Nutrition
  • Physical Education
  • History
  • Geography
  • Creative iMedia
  • Business Studies
  • Religious Studies
  • Modern Foreign Languages (French & Spanish)
  • Drama
  • Health & Social Care

These are organised in three pathways:

Pathway 1: The English Baccalaureate

The English Baccalaureate is a nationally recognised standard achieved by students who are successful in gaining a GCSE grade 4 or above in the following subjects:

  • English • Mathematics • Science • History or Geography • Modern Foreign Language.

Pathway 2: GCSEs

GCSEs will be the main type of qualification students will study in the options. They are awarded from grades 9 to 1 and are therefore suitable for all students. GCSEs will be assessed by exams at the end of the course.

Pathway 3: Vocational qualifications

Some students may feel a vocational qualification is more suited to them. These are Level 2 courses equivalent to a GCSE that have more practical based content and different forms of assessment in the form of a portfolio as well as an examination during the course. Work is subject to both internal and external verification as part of a moderation process.